Hymns for elders with dementia: Song List

These hymns represent selections from every major hymnal: African American, Baptist, Catholic, Episcopalian, Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian, and more. All recordings were made with professional vocalists and piano accompaniment in a professional studio. They are all arranged very simply, suitable as sing-alongs for elders with Alzheimer’s and other dementias: a slower tempo, fewer verses, and in a lower key than usual.

Finalized and uploaded:

  1. A Mighty Fortress
  2. Abide with Me
  3. All Creatures of our God and King
  4. All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name
  5. Amazing Grace
  6. Be Still My Soul
  7. Be Thou My Vision
  8. Beneath the Cross of Jesus
  9. Blessed Assurance
  10. Blest Be the Tie that Binds
  11. Breathe on Me, Breath of God
  12. Christ the Lord is Risen Today
  13. The Church’s One Foundation
  14. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
  15. Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus
  16. Crown Him with Many Crowns
  17. Doxology (Praise God from Whom all Blessings Flow)
  18. Doxology, reprise
  19. Fairest Lord Jesus
  20. Faith of our Fathers
  21. For All the Saints
  22. For the Beauty of the Earth
  23. Gloria Patri (Glory be to the Father)
  24. God Be With You Till We Meet Again
  25. Great is Thy Faithfulness
  26. Guide Me O Thou Great Jehovah
  27. His Eye is on the Sparrow
  28. Holy Holy Holy
  29. How Firm a Foundation
  30. How Great Thou Art
  31. I Know that My Redeemer Lives
  32. I Love to Tell the Story
  33. I Need Thee Every Hour
  34. I Surrender All
  35. I’ll Fly Away
  36. In the Garden
  37. It is Well with My Soul
  38. Jesus Calls Us
  39. Jesus Loves Me
  40. Jesus Paid it All
  41. Jesus Shall Reign
  42. Jesus the Very Thought of Thee
  43. Joyful Joyful
  44. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  45. Just as I am
  46. Leaning on the Everlasting Arms
  47. A Mighty Fortress
  48. My Faith Looks Up to Thee
  49. My Hope is Built
  50. My Jesus I Love Thee
  51. Nearer My God to Thee
  52. O for a Thousand Tongues
  53. O God, Our Help in Ages Past
  54. O Sacred Head Now Wounded
  55. O Worship the King
  56. The Old Rugged Cross
  57. Praise to the Lord, the Almighty
  58. Rock of Ages
  59. Savior Like a Shepherd Lead Us
  60. Shall We Gather at the River
  61. Softly and Tenderly
  62. Standing on the Promises
  63. Sweet Hour of Prayer
  64. This is My Father’s World
  65. Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus
  66. To God be the Glory
  67. Trust and Obey
  68. We Gather Together
  69. Were You There?
  70. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  71. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
  72. When Morning Gilds the Skies

Gospels and Spirituals:

  1. Amazing Grace (gospel version)
  2. The Blood Will Never Lose its Power
  3. Glory Glory, Hallelujah
  4. He’s Got the Whole World
  5. His Eye is on the Sparrow (gospel performance)
  6. I am on the Battlefield
  7. I’ll Fly Away (gospel version)
  8. Let Us Break Bread Together
  9. Nothing But the Blood
  10. O How I Love Jesus
  11. Oh, Freedom
  12. Pass Me Not
  13. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  14. There is Power in the Blood
  15. This Little Light of Mine
  16. Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus
  17. We Shall Overcome
  18. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  19. When the Saints Go Marching In

Christmas set:

  1. Angels from the Realms of Glory
  2. Angels We Have Heard on High (Gloria in Excelsis Deo)
  3. Away in a Manger
  4. The First Noel
  5. Go Tell it on the Mountain
  6. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
  7. Good Christian Friends, Rejoice
  8. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  9. Here We Come A-Wassailing
  10. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear
  11. Joy to the World
  12. Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming
  13. O Come All Ye Faithful
  14. O Come O Come Emmanuel
  15. O Holy Night
  16. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  17. Silent Night
  18. We Three Kings
  19. We Wish You a Merry Christmas (church version)
  20. What Child is This

Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.